Day 1 - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Elise Bos - WaarBenJij.nu Day 1 - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Elise Bos - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 1

Door: Elise Bos

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Elise

31 Oktober 2016 | Australië, Melbourne

I had such a great day today! As the Architectural Office is located in the CBD of Melbourne I went there by train and tram. I have used the public transport of Melbourne before but this was definitely the most stressfull time. I obviously had to be on time and the problem was: I had never been to this specific station... So I arrived at the station, stressfully searching for the right tram stop and the right tram and running to make it, which I did. In the Tram it's still stressful as you could have picked the wrong tram, or worse: the tram with the same number going in the opposite direction... I luckily picked the right one and even got off at the right station. But there was an other problem, i didn't know how to get to the office from the station. Luckly I just asked someone who immediately helped me out.
Arriving at the office I was a bit early and felt a little awkward so I decided to wait untill it was 2 min before the agreed time. I knocked on the door and was welcomely showed around by their "permanent" internship student. (of which I already forgot the name as I had to learn too many names for one day) The office was located inside an old storage building and the design was, not really surprisingly, amazing! There were about 10 people at the office working behind their laptop.
The permanent internshipstudent, which I am going to call PI from now on, assigned me a desk and a tablet to work on. I got a book about the designs of H2o Architects and a notebook. Later she brought me an excersice I could do. I got a brief and was asked to design a house, in the brief were all kinds of restrictions and preferences I had to keep in mind. They make use of Sketchup and so did I. Getting to know sketchup costed me some time as I had never used it before but after less then an hour I could actually get started.
I enjoyed it so much, my design was not nearly looking as great as theirs and a 5 year old could probably have made the same out of blocks but at least I learned how to use sketchup. At about 1 pm I took my lunchbreak, everybody took their lunch downstairs and this was my first oppertunity to chat with some people about fun stuff and, ofcourse, their designs. Before we went back to work we went to get coffee around the corner, I do not drink coffee but it was good to have a walk.
The "boss" of the Office had entered some time before lunch and asked my I wanted to do this specific internship. I told him about my interest in architecture and about the study choice I was obviously supposed to make soonish. The "boss" (of which I forgot the name as well...) promised me that I could come to some meetings so I can actually get a full picture of what the Job looks like!
The rest of the afternoon I have spent working on my design, which looks still not all to good unfortunatelly. I never realised how hard it is to meet so many criterea in an Artwork, because that is what it is supposed to be. At 5 pm everybody was still working but I really needed to catch my train as I still had to travel for another 1,5 hours. After saying goodbye I left my first "workday". I still had to run for the tram, and for the train but I was home by 6:15 so it was all fine.
The first day was the opposite of what I had expected and definetly a lot more intersting and less awkward. Tomorrow I am off as there is Melbourne Cup but Wednesday I'll have my first meeting, exciting!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Elise

Hey Guys, It's great that you are having a look at my blog. I am Elise and I am 16 years old. I am writing this blog to keep track of my experiences during my international internship. I will be working at H2O architects in Melbourne for a week.

Actief sinds 30 Okt. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 127
Totaal aantal bezoekers 1850

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Oktober 2016 - 04 November 2016

International Internship at H2o Architects

Landen bezocht: